Get a Copy of a Report
The Larimer County Sheriff's Office (LCSO) Records Department is responsible for the retention of Sheriff records for LCSO; as well as the release of information to the public, courts, other law enforcement agencies, and insurance companies.
LCSO Records Department 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday 2501 Midpoint Drive Closed Saturdays, Sundays, and Holidays Fort Collins, CO 80525
Phone: (970) 498-5110 Fax: (970) 482-8745
All requests for records must be submitted on a Sheriff's Office Records Request form, filled out completely, and the pecuniary statement signed per Colorado Revised Statute 24-72-305.5. The request form must be accompanied by a non-refundable fee which covers the search for the records. *Please note we will not process any requests until both the research fee and the request form have been received* In addition, a processing fee of 25 cents per page will be charged for reports, computer services searches, and medical or inmate files. Costs for reproduction have been approved under CRS 24-72-306 and set by Larimer County Resolution 07012008R004.
Search fees must be paid for in advance by cash, check, or money order. We currently do not accept credit cards. Victims of a crime may receive one copy of their report without charge.
The completed report can be mailed, faxed, emailed, or picked up in person at the Larimer County Sheriff's Office.
Determination of release of records will be made in accordance with Colorado Revised Statutes and LCSO Records Release Policy. Records are not released immediately upon request, and depending on the type of record requested, can take several days. Please submit your request form as early as possible to avoid delays. Reports are not generally available for specific incidents for 10-14 days after the incident has occurred.
Case/Incident Report Form (click to download)
Case Report/Incident Report - This is a report made on a specific incident. Release of case reports is dependent on a variety of circumstances such as, but not limited to, the type of report, status of the investigation, and ages of the individuals involved in the report. Colorado state statutes prohibit the release of certain case reports or information relating to at-risk adults, juveniles, victims of crime, and on-going police investigations. Reports will be reviewed by appropriate personnel to determine if reports can be released. In some instances, the released report may have certain information redacted. Cost is $7.50 non-refundable search fee, 25 cents per page processing fee.
Criminal History/Background Check Form (click to download)
Criminal History/Background Check - Will provide information on an individual as to when they have been booked in the Larimer County Jail or had charges filed by the Larimer County Sheriff's Office. Records go back to 2005. If no arrest history is located, a letter stating such will be issued. If a local criminal record exists, the requestor will receive a list of arrests on file with the Larimer County Sheriff. Must have the person’s first and last name and date of birth. Cost is $7.50 non-refundable search fee.
The LCSO Records Department does not maintain court dispositions on arrests. If this type of information is required, please contact the Larimer County Court at (970) 498-6100 to request the official case disposition.
If you require a statewide background check, please contact the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) at (303) 239-4300. A statewide background check can also be ordered through CBI's website at https://www.cbirecordscheck.com/.
An individual may also request a copy of his or her own FBI Identification Record for personal review. Specific instructions for obtaining an FBI Identification Record can be obtained at www.fbi.gov/hq/cjisd/fprequest.htm. Reasons an individual may request a copy of his or her own Identification Record may include employment or licensing within the United States, international adoption or to satisfy a requirement to live or work in a foreign country.
Inmate File Form (click to download)
Inmate Files - Records maintained on inmates during their incarceration are available only to the inmate or representative. Information may include but is not limited to medical screening, property records, inmate behavior reports, inmate request reports. Form must be filled out and signature of inmate notarized. Cost is $7.50 non-refundable search fee and 25 cents per page processing fee.
Inmate Booking Photo Form (click to download)
Inmate Booking Photo - Booking Photos of inmates are available. The Booking Photo Form must be filled out and signed. Must have the person’s first and last name and date of birth. Cost is $1.50 non-refundable fee for each photo requested.
Medical/Mental Health Records Form (click to download)
Medical Records - Medical records maintained on inmates during their incarceration are available only to the inmate or representative. Form must be signed by the inmate. Cost is $25.00 non-refundable search fee and 25 cents per page processing fee.
911 CD Form (click to download)
911 Dispatch CD - Recordings maintained of incoming and outgoing calls through Dispatch, as well as radio traffic for specific incidents. Exact date and time are required. Recordings are only available for 13 months. Cost is $30.00 non-refundable search fee. Recordings are transferred to a compact disc.
Case Photo Form (click to download)
Case Photos - Case Photos are photos taken at the scene of the crime not entered into evidence. Requires approval by case officer. Cost is for photos is $10 which includes the compact disc for photos taken after May 2004. Photos prior to May 2004 are made from negatives and are billed at actual cost of reproduction in addition to the $10 fee.
Miscellaneous Form (click to download)
Area and address checks. Cost is $7.50.
Dispatch Notes - This is a report of the information collected during a call that does not result in a full case report being prepared. It contains limited information but documents the call. Cost is $7.50.
Computer Services Search Form (click to download)
Special searches requiring the creation of a new record, manipulation of data or expertise of computer systems personnel are charged at $40 per hour with a one hour minimum plus $.25 per page processing fee.
Registered Sex Offender List - Come in and look at the book or list of RSO for the County free of charge, or purchase a copy of the list for $7.50. Current registered sex offenders can also be viewed online at http://larimer.org/sheriff/sexoffenders.